Just Keep Swimming?

Our neighbors across the street have a great pool.  It overlooks a beautiful area of Escondido, hills and trees and pretty houses.  Last night, we finally went swimming there.  It was a late night swim, nearly 9:00 by the time we finally got over there.  Our neighbors are currently out of town, so we had the place to ourselves.  We laughed so hard, loving the cold water after this disgusting hot weather.  We got to watch a giant moon rise over the mountains, shrouded in leftover smoke from the recent fires.

In short, it was beautiful.  And I felt very refreshed.  I was laughing, for a long time after we got out of the pool, and I slept really really hard that night.  Don’t laugh at me: I haven’t been swimming in a long time.

I won’t be able to go for a swim all the time, but if I’m going to make exercise a part of my routine, I’ll want to spice it up sometimes with new activities and also ones I can’t get to that often.  One of those things, I have decided, will be swimming.  I’m excited to do laps and try some pool-related exercises, but mostly I’m just excited for that rush of lightness I felt when I was in the pool.  It was so nice, especially after a stressful week.  And because I’m a late-night person anyway, and because the moon was so beautiful, and I could see the stars, I will probably make it a night thing.  After a long day, when I have an hour in the evening, I will go swimming.

This is not the end.

Sierra

Leave a Reply

